RSS Feed

Sewing Sunday-ish: Dino Jammies Edition

Ozlin and Rusty’s friend Piggy has the CUTEST doggie jammies.  Seriously the cutest things in the world.  So of course I decided that Oz needs PJs because the last effort to clothe her Royal Chubness went so very well.  /sarcasm

At Wal-Mart I found a pattern for a doggie dinosaur costume for less than $1.00 so of course I had to buy it.  Jinx helped me pick out the pink fleece for her and off to work I went!  Yes, Jinx was my accomplice in this.

So I got about the business of cutting everything out to find I’d gotten about twice as much fleece as I needed.  “I could make a whole second one of these if I wanted to!” I exclaimed without irony.  This later would come back to haunt me.

I spent more time and care pinning this thing than I do most of my own garments.

I was pleasantly surprised that it worked up rather quickly and BAM! I was ready to torture the dog.  And torture it was.

I hate you, mom.

It was WAY too small.  The length from collar to tail was spot on, the width around her deep little chest was so very, very not.  I managed to get 3 of her legs in it for this picture, but there was a moment when I was concerned that I might not then be able to get it back off of her.  Don’t judge, we’ve all been there.

Miraculously, I had enough fabric to make it all over again.

So I did.

Because I’m a crazy person.

Adjusting for Super Chub allowance.

Surely, nearly four extra inches of ease across her back would do the job right.  Surely.

Surely not.

One pair of skin-tight fleece Dino-PJs coming up!

So versatile these dino-jammies with a totally unnecessary hood!

They were STILL too tight for her to wear comfortably, but wear them she did.  You can’t really appreciate just how much of her butt-fluff was sticking out the back of this thing.  It was ridiculous.  I’m starting to think that the animals would appreciate it if I stopped trying to make stuff for them.  Apparently, I’m really bad at it.  But its fun, so they will just have to deal with it.

Pickles remains unimpressed.

 

 

 

Say Somethin'

